menu plan monday: 02.06.12

Just had to share one of my new favorite breakfast sides or snacks – fresh blueberries, coconut flakes, roasted pecans and a splash of coconut milk. And you know what would make it even yummier? A dash of cinnamon. I use cinnamon on a pretty much daily basis in something – my paleo muffin tops, in my mashed butternut squash and I’m working on a spiced coconut milk drinking chocolate that I’m hoping to share soon.

I love the first menu plan of the month – it’s when I’ve done my big Costco trip, we’ve usually hit the big city for Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods, and I find I’m always up to trying some new recipes.

This week, I’ve got a fridge full of produce – including a flowering broccoli-ish something I need to do a little more research on, a great big bag of baby bok choy, several pounds of mushrooms and three heads of napa cabbage.

I see lots of veggies in our future and some stir-fry’s coming for lunch! And, as usual, everything is gluten-free and paleo friendly.

Here’s our dinner plan:

Marinated Tri Tip Steaks and Roasted Veggies (mushrooms, asparagus, onions)
Zucchini Alfredo
Still working on perfecting the marinade for the tri-tip and veggies – hoping to share next week!

Creamy Chicken and Tomato Soup
Tossed Greens
Paleo Muffin Tops – but a little more savory

Beef with Broccoli (from the Make It Paleo cookbook)
Cauliflower Rice (using the roasted technique in this recipe, and pulsed a little less in the food pro so it’s more riced and less mashed. I’m finding roasting as opposed to steaming to be the way to go for non-mushy cauliflower rice)

Red Curry Glazed Chicken Skewers (from Make It Paleo, but doubling the red curry paste for more flavor)
Grilled Veggies – whatever needs to be eaten most!

Smothered Pork Chops
Roasted Kabocha Squash
Mixed Greens Salad

no idea – probably breakfast for supper? maybe paleo waffles?

Paleo Chicken and Vegetable Lo Mein

Shared at Org Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday and the Gluten Free Menu Swap at Celiac Family!.

9 thoughts on “menu plan monday: 02.06.12

  1. Some inspiring veggies in your menu this week. I bought two beautiful cauliflowers on sale and I’ve been meaning to give cauliflower rice a try. Have a lovely week.

  2. Pingback: Gluten-Free Menu Plan - Cinnamon

  3. Do you use coconut milk from the can or coconut milk from the carton? The stuff I find in the carton (runny milk) in my town has a lot of ingredients I’m not familiar with so I’m hesitant to buy it.

    I am looking forward to the marinade. I just had steak tips last night and my friend said that she used a bottle of marinade on them….would love to have a homemade recipe!

    • I buy the canned – it’s easier to find without any extra ingredients. It’s usually much thicker so if I’m planning on using it for hot cocoa, I thin it with water. You can also let it settle, pull the cream off the top and whip it for coconut whipped cream. It’s super yummy!

  4. Pingback: Menu Making Monday! |

Leave a Reply

