somehow, Christmas

Somehow, we’re already counting down to Christmas.

It’s going to be different this year. Favorite faces are no longer with us, and that’s already painful. Tom is serving at two churches…which means two Christmas Eve services…which means I don’t know what Christmas Eve will look like for us. The kids are attending different schools, which means somewhat different breaks.

Somehow, the Christmas card is ready to print.

I’m in shock about that one. I decided to make it easier on myself and go with individual shots of the kids, rather than trying to force a family or just-the-kids shoot. Costco had the perfect card to put them on – almost like it was designed just for the photos I wanted to use. I just need to print and send, and it’s not even December yet. I’m feeling rather awesome about that.

Somehow, the shopping was easy.

Even on Black Friday. I’ve made notes all year long, drew up my list and budget and so far…it’s been pleasant. The best holiday decision I ever made was the one a few years ago to limit the kids to three gifts each. I still need an idea or two for them, but everything else – parents, nieces and nephews, even Tom – is done.

Somehow, the house got decorated.

Mostly. I have a couple of areas I just can’t get a handle on this year and I think a trip to Hobby Lobby might be necessary. Hanna was a huge help this year. Next year, I may just let her go with it.

Somehow, I know that Christmas spirit will be felt and even the different will be good.

Leave a Reply

