menu plan monday: 08.29.11

I know there are other months with 31 days, but August always seems the longest to me. I’m so anxious for Fall to get here – after six years in Florida, I am chomping at the bit to start making soups and stews, to pull out my pumpkin collection, to see trees that actually lose their leaves again.

We’re finally getting back into the school groove and used to new schedules, and I’m trying a new meal planning schedule of my own (courtesy of Women Living Well):

With all of my favorite and must-try recipes in Plan to Eat and this plan, it’s taking me just a few minutes to pull together a meal plan and shopping lists. Love it!

And a request…I am in need of something new to do with veggies. Any suggestions?

Monday
Tex Mex Lasagna (with corn tortillas and homemade gluten-free condensed cream of chicken soup)
Salad
Cantaloupe (the cantaloupe fairy dropped by again-yes!)

Tuesday
Creamy Cajun Chicken Pasta
Sauteed Cauliflower (steam a chopped up head of cauliflower then throw in a saute pan with a bit of olive oil, butter and garlic and let it get a little caramelized and yummy)
Artisan Bread

Wednesday
Grilled Chicken
Baked Brown Rice
Broccoli

Thursday
Slow Cooker Green Chile Chicken
Corn Tortillas
Corn

Friday
Southwestern Chicken with Spinach and Mashed Potatoes
Tossed Salad

Saturday
Sub sandwiches (on a lettuce leaf for me)
Cantaloupe

Sunday
Potluck lunch at church – need to plan something…maybe potluck mushrooms?
Grandma Andy’s birthday dinner – artisan bread and hosting are my responsibility

This post will be linked to Organizing Junkie’s Menu Plan Monday. Looking for meal inspiration? It’s a great place to visit!

Leave a comment